About IBMC

IBMC is a multidisciplinary research institution that was formed in 1997 with the aim of bringing together researchers working within the University of Porto and affiliated hospitals to produce a unique environment promoting research in the life sciences. It became a Research Unit recognized and funded by the Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT) of Portugal; the main Portuguese government body that funds science.



At this stage, IBMC joined forces with the Institute of Biomedical Engineering (INEB), also funded by the FCT, and proposed the creation of an Associate Laboratory and requested funds to build a site that could house the two research communities. In 2000 the new building was inaugurated and the two Research Units became known as the IBMC.INEB Associate Laboratory (LA).

To ensure a completely multidisciplinary environment, IBMC will continue to foster the implementation of fully integrated scientific programs across the different Research Groups and pursue interdisciplinary approaches that have already emerged as a result of the unique environment within the Institute.


IBMC Legal Status - Diário da República III série, nº83 - 9-4-1997 [PDF]

Declaration of Public Utility - Diário da República II série, nº284 - 11-12-2000 [PDF]

Research & Development Institutions Legal Framework



IBMC Association Members


Founding Members:

Universidade do Porto
Câmara Municipal do Porto
Centro Hospitalar de S. João
Instituto Nacional de Saúde "Dr. Ricardo Jorge"
Comissão de Coordenação e Desenvolvimento Regional do Norte
Centro Hospitalar do Porto – Hospital de Santo António


Joint Members:

Maria de Sousa
Deolinda Lima
Maria João Saraiva
Jorge Sequeiros
Alexandre Quintanilha
Francisco Carvalho Guerra (Assoc. Honorário)
Pedro Moradas-Ferreira
Claudio Sunkel
Arnaldo Videira
Roberto Salema
Clara Sá Miranda
Mário Barbosa

Jorge Vieira
Alexandre do Carmo
Nuno dos Santos
Maria Helena Carvalho
Didier Cabanes
Francisco Cruz   

Jorge Azevedo
Paula Tamagnini
Vitor Costa

BIAL Laboratórios
Faculdade de Medicina, UP
Faculdade de Farmácia, UP
Faculdade de Engenharia, UP
Faculdade de Ciências, UP
Instituto de Ciências Biomédicas Abel Salazar

Anna Olsson

Mónica Sousa
Helder Maiato
João Relvas
João Morais Cabral
Sandra Macedo Ribeiro
Pedro Pereira

Anabela Cordeiro da Silva
Pedro Rodrigues
Graça Porto


FINANCIAL REPORTS: 2007 [PDF] | 2008 [PDF] | 2009 [PDF] | 2010 [PDF] | 2011 [PDF] | 2012 [PDF] | 2013 [PDF] | 2014 [PDF] | 2015 [PDF] | 2016 [PDF] | 2017 [PDF]

Home | Site Map | Contacts | Credits | Privacy & Cookies | Intranet | Social Networks |

rua alfredo allen, 208, 4200-135 porto - portugal | tel +351 220 408 800 | email: info@ibmc.up.pt | © copyright 2010 ibmc